The Twinkie Experiment…

0713_web_a_twinkies_t618Just got back in from a quick trip to town and thought I would tell you about a really disappointing experience with a Twinkie!.

I have seen Twinkies in so many American TV shows that I was persuaded to go into our local “Americandy” shop in town to find out more about this ubiquitous American treat.

Entering the shop my eyes were dazzled by the colours, shapes and sizes of the sweets, cereals and chocolate on display (most of which I had not seen before naturally being US imports).

I passed the Froot Loops, Reese’s Cereal and Lucky Charms (all horribly overpriced in my opinion) and made my way to the back of the store, where I was again bowled over by the insane prices of the tasty looking sweets on display.

Eventually, I made my way full circle to the front of the shop and spied a box of Twinkies behind the till.

Not wanting to buy a whole box in case I didn’t like them, I bought a solitary Twinkie looking sorry for itself by the till.

Upon opening the unappetising wrapper and taking a large bite, I was instantly blown away by how bland and tasteless the Twinkie was.

Having seen them eaten and talked about on TV a lot, I had quite high hopes for this sugary morsel, but alas, I was disappointed.

Fortunately, I had bought  a few small sweets to munch on which were far better received than the nutritionally worthless Twinkie.

Washing the sugar down with an energy drink, I made my way to Southampton Voluntary Services (the main reason for going to town to look for volunteer work) to discover it closed three hours previously…

Then had a long bus ride in the rush hour traffic home where I decided to write about the depressing Twinkie.

Author: Terence Bennett

Husband, Gamer, Modder, Reader, Writer, Blogger!

What do you think?

