Programming Adventures Start Here!

The Microsoft Visual Studio .NET logo.
The Microsoft Visual Studio .NET logo. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

Well after spending the best part of yesterday installing Visual Studio 2008 a total of FOUR times (kept coming up with a corrupt cab file error) and my google-fu only yielded four hits on it and two of those were chinese (thank you google translate addon for firefox!).

Eventually, I managed to get it installed and now it runs nicely so I am prepared for my first foray into programming for several years since college!.

 

 

I also downloaded Python as it was recommended for beginners all over the internet and am now completing the codeacademy.com tutorials before jumping into the books I have

I am hoping to progress through the codeacademy tutorials, then onto the beginner’s book, then onto the more advanced stuff to build up a good level of ability before switching to C# and finally C++ where I hope to start creating a game (details withheld for the time being, but rest assured it’s not an MMO like everyone wants to do straight off!).

 

 

 

I would like to go to college again to study and give me something for my CV for this year, but I am having a few problems getting the paperwork they require for me and my wife to do the same course.  I am even thinking of seeing what the Open University can offer, but that will have to wait until I have a job and can afford it! though I would like to study at level three before upgrading to a degree level course (even though it is work from home course and it is a lot cheaper than University, it still is a big and expensive step and I don’t want to be stuck with a student loan hanging over my head!).

 

 

 

Ah well, time will tell! for now I am going to have a crack at Python and see what happens!.

 

 

 

Author: Terence Bennett

Husband, Gamer, Modder, Reader, Writer, Blogger!

What do you think?

