Games, Glorious Games!

Well, it has been a long time since my last post.

I think it is for a variety of reasons, chiefly being the fact that I am now well and truly back into my games and spend time on them when I should be writing.

I have definitely turned into a steam addict and my game collection grows by the week (though now Tracey has given me an allowance each fortnight!).

Lately, I have been mainly playing Crusader Kings II (where I am trying my hardest to become the King of Ireland [unsuccessfully] as YouTube recommends to new players), X2:The Threat (I am making my annual attempt at an X:Marathon where I start with X:Beyond the Frontier and progress through X:Tension, X2:The Threat, X3:Reunion and X3:Terran Conflict building my empire before finally getting my hands on X3: Albion Prelude and finally X:Rebirth if my PC can handle it).

Also unsuccessful, as X:Beyond the Frontier is just so hard, leading me to skip it and jump straight to X2:The Threat (I know!, I know! cheating!) but there is so much in the X universe to do and each successive game makes it bigger and infinitely more complex! seriously, go out and buy it, you won’t be disappointed! especially if you’re a fan of science-fiction 4X games and you can even ignore the storyline and just enjoy the sandbox.

Wow, just reread what i wrote and I really came off sounding like I was being paid by Egosoft to plug their game! (i’m not by the way) just a huge fan!.

I have also been playing Football Manager 2014 (which I got for next to nothing thanks to a GAME voucher from last Christmas and a GAME sale!) trying to take a lower-league team into the championships (though I am still learning the ropes!).

I have also been playing a lot of Minecraft with Tracey (we have set up a new server, that’s our third and so far we have done a lot better than any of our previous servers).                   Tracey sorts out the farming and animal husbandry, while keeping away the Creepers and Zombies while I do the mining deep underground looking for those elusive Diamonds while Skeletons and Lava do their best to kill me!.

We also occasionally go on excursions for supplies and shelter in little hidey holes when night falls and face off against all the zombies trying to get in!.

I have also been dabbling with video creation again but haven’t been pleased with any results so far but I will keep trying and hope to post something worthwhile soon.             We have also begun our annual tradition of watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer again before moving onto the graphic novels and have lots of our TV series coming back around now so plenty to keep us entertained.

I felt really old last weekend when my baby sister turned sixteen! we went over to see her celebrate her big day and it made me miss our mom even more that she couldn’t be there in person to see her come of age.

We would have been back at Totton College as students by now, but the Computer Programming course we had enrolled on was cancelled due to insufficient numbers.  Well, I think I have rattled on long enough about what I have been doing since my last post so I will end now and devote my entire attention to Buffy!.

Author: Terence Bennett

Husband, Gamer, Modder, Reader, Writer, Blogger!

What do you think?

